St George's Church of England Foundation SchoolHartsdown Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares St George's Church of England Foundation School and Hartsdown Academy.
St George's Church of England Foundation School scores 49 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Hartsdown Academy scores 42 out of 100 (grade D, below average). St George's Church of England Foundation School is ahead on our composite score.
St George's Church of England Foundation School was judged Good and Hartsdown Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 37.7 for St George's Church of England Foundation School and 32.1 for Hartsdown Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at St George's Church of England Foundation School (35.5 in 2021-22, 37.7 in 2024-25) and has risen at Hartsdown Academy (25.0 in 2021-22, 32.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BroadstairsSt George's Church of England Foundation School | MargateHartsdown Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D49/100Stronger figure | D42/100 | |
| Local ranking | 72nd of 102 in Kent Stronger figure | 89th of 102 in Kent | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 4-19 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,616 | 837 | |
| Capacity | 1,375 | 1,175 | |
| Location | Broadstairs, CT10 2LH | Margate, CT9 5RE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 37.7 Stronger figure | 32.1 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 16.7% | 19.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 50.9% Stronger figure | 38.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 7.4% | 14.6% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.75 Stronger figure | 2.68 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 216 | 137 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 65.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 3.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 103.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 1 | Not reported | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,616 | 837 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 35.4% | 64.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.8% | 22.8% | |
| SEN support | 11.8% | 42.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.8% | 3.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.6% Stronger figure | 14.9% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 27.1% Stronger figure | 48.1% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
St George's Church of England Foundation School
Hartsdown Academy
Full profiles: St George's Church of England Foundation School · Hartsdown Academy