Spalding Grammar SchoolCowley Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Spalding.
Summary of the comparison
Spalding Grammar School and Cowley Academy are secondary schools in Spalding.
Spalding Grammar School scores 69 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Cowley Academy scores 55 out of 100 (grade C, average). Spalding Grammar School is ahead on our composite score.
Spalding Grammar School was judged Good and Cowley Academy was judged strong.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 58.8 for Spalding Grammar School and 36.5 for Cowley Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Spalding Grammar School (63.7 in 2021-22, 58.8 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Cowley Academy (39.4 in 2022-23, 36.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | SpaldingSpalding Grammar School | SpaldingCowley Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C69/100Stronger figure | C55/100 | |
| Local ranking | 9th of 54 in Lincolnshire Stronger figure | 30th of 54 in Lincolnshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: StrongStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Boys | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 995 | 627 | |
| Capacity | 1,070 | 650 | |
| Location | Spalding, PE11 2XH | Spalding, PE11 4TF | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 58.8 Stronger figure | 36.5 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 75.2% Stronger figure | 16.8% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 95.2% Stronger figure | 34.4% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 62.8% Stronger figure | 4.8% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.32 Stronger figure | 2.84 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 145 | 125 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 115 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 34.2 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 34.3 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 15.7% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 995 | 627 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 10.4% | 35.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 9.9% | 6.2% | |
| SEN support | 6.9% | 10.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.9% | 5.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 4.9% Stronger figure | 8.9% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 10.7% Stronger figure | 27.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Spalding Grammar School
Cowley Academy
Full profiles: Spalding Grammar School · Cowley Academy