Skegness AcademyJohn Spendluffe Foundation Technology College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Skegness Academy and John Spendluffe Foundation Technology College are secondary schools.
Skegness Academy scores 33 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and John Spendluffe Foundation Technology College scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average). John Spendluffe Foundation Technology College is ahead on our composite score.
Skegness Academy was judged Requires improvement and John Spendluffe Foundation Technology College was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 30.7 for Skegness Academy and 36.2 for John Spendluffe Foundation Technology College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Skegness Academy (34.0 in 2021-22, 30.7 in 2024-25) and has fallen at John Spendluffe Foundation Technology College (38.5 in 2021-22, 36.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | SkegnessSkegness Academy | AlfordJohn Spendluffe Foundation Technology College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F33/100 | D48/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 49th of 54 in Lincolnshire | 42nd of 54 in Lincolnshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 932 | 634 | |
| Capacity | 1,340 | 625 | |
| Location | Skegness, PE25 2QH | Alford, LN13 9BL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 30.7 | 36.2 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 4.7% | 19.6% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 30.4% | 48.2% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 3.4% | 7.1% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.35 | 2.95 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 148 | 112 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 13 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 17.6 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D- | Not reported | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 932 | 634 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 65.0% | 52.7% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.3% | 0.9% | |
| SEN support | 27.5% | 14.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 7.2% | 6.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 12.3% | 9.8% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 40.3% | 32.6% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Skegness Academy
John Spendluffe Foundation Technology College
Full profiles: Skegness Academy · John Spendluffe Foundation Technology College