Sir John Nelthorpe SchoolKirton Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Sir John Nelthorpe School and Kirton Academy are secondary schools.
Sir John Nelthorpe School scores 53 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Kirton Academy scores 27 out of 100 (grade F, weak). Sir John Nelthorpe School is ahead on our composite score.
Sir John Nelthorpe School was judged Good and Kirton Academy was judged Inadequate.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.0 for Sir John Nelthorpe School and 36.7 for Kirton Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Sir John Nelthorpe School (51.7 in 2021-22, 46.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BriggSir John Nelthorpe School | GainsboroughKirton Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D53/100Stronger figure | F27/100 | |
| Local ranking | 8th of 14 in North Lincolnshire Stronger figure | 14th of 14 in North Lincolnshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Inadequate | |
| School type | Voluntary controlled school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 877 | 394 | |
| Capacity | 870 | 870 | |
| Location | Brigg, DN20 8AA | Gainsborough, DN21 4NN | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.0 Stronger figure | 36.7 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 43.6% Stronger figure | 18.8% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 66.2% Stronger figure | 50.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 51.9% Stronger figure | 9.4% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.09 Stronger figure | 3.14 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 133 | 64 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 29 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 23.4 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 24.4 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 6.7% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 877 | 394 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 21.7% | 47.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.9% | 3.0% | |
| SEN support | 12.1% | 34.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.7% | 7.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.1% Stronger figure | 11.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 20.8% Stronger figure | 31.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: Sir John Nelthorpe School · Kirton Academy