Sewell Park AcademyThorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Norwich.
Summary of the comparison
Sewell Park Academy and Thorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form are secondary schools in Norwich.
Sewell Park Academy scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Thorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form scores 62 out of 100 (grade C, average). Thorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form is ahead on our composite score.
Sewell Park Academy was judged the expected standard and Thorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 39.1 for Sewell Park Academy and 49.2 for Thorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Sewell Park Academy (40.0 in 2021-22, 39.1 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Thorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form (51.1 in 2021-22, 49.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | NorwichSewell Park Academy | NorwichThorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D48/100 | C62/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 46th of 53 in Norfolk | 13th of 53 in Norfolk Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 789 | 1,834 | |
| Capacity | 750 | 1,892 | |
| Location | Norwich, NR3 4BX | Norwich, NR7 0XS | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 39.1 | 49.2 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 29.3% | 50.2% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 47.3% | 70.7% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 17.3% | 48.1% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.24 | 4.51 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 150 | 297 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 110 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 34.3 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 37.5 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 14.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 789 | 1,834 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 41.4% | 16.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 25.6% | 9.2% | |
| SEN support | 18.1% | 11.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 6.8% | 2.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.3% | 7.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.8% | 19.6% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Sewell Park Academy
Thorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form
Full profiles: Sewell Park Academy · Thorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form