Sewell Park AcademySprowston Community Academy

Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Norwich.

Summary of the comparison

Sewell Park Academy and Sprowston Community Academy are secondary schools in Norwich.

  • Sewell Park Academy scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Sprowston Community Academy scores 51 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Sprowston Community Academy is ahead on our composite score.

  • Sewell Park Academy was judged the expected standard and Sprowston Community Academy was judged the expected standard.

  • On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 39.1 for Sewell Park Academy and 45.0 for Sprowston Community Academy.

  • GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Sewell Park Academy (40.0 in 2021-22, 39.1 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Sprowston Community Academy (43.5 in 2021-22, 45.0 in 2024-25).

Side-by-side comparison

Sewell Park Academy versus Sprowston Community Academy compared on inspection, results, pupils and attendance.
Measure NorwichSewell Park AcademyNorwichSprowston Community AcademyEngland average
Overview
Our scoreD48/100D51/100Stronger figure
Local ranking46th of 53 in Norfolk 44th of 53 in Norfolk Stronger figure
InspectionOfsted: ExpectedOfsted: Expected
School typeAcademy sponsor led Academy sponsor led
PhaseSecondary Secondary
Age range11-16 11-18
GenderMixed Mixed
Pupils on roll789 1,739
Capacity750 1,767
LocationNorwich, NR3 4BX Norwich, NR7 8NE
GCSE results
Attainment 839.1 45.0 Stronger figure46.0
Grade 5+ in English & maths29.3% 45.2% Stronger figure45.4%
Grade 4+ in English & maths47.3% 66.1% Stronger figure64.8%
Entering EBacc17.3% Stronger figure14.5% 40.5%
EBacc average point score3.24 3.93 Stronger figure4.09
Cohort150 310
A-level results
A-level entriesNot reported63
A-level average pointsNot reported26.7 35.0
A-level average gradeNot reportedC-
Best 3 A-levels pointsNot reported27.6 35.8
AAB+ incl. facilitating subjectsNot reported9.3% 17.5%
Pupils
Pupils in the census789 1,739
Free school meals (ever 6)41.4% 22.1%
English as an additional language25.6% 10.6%
SEN support18.1% 18.1%
SEN with an EHC plan6.8% 4.8%
Attendance
Overall absence10.3% Stronger figure11.3% 6.2%
Persistent absence24.8% Stronger figure28.4% 15.8%

marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.

Historical trends

Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.

GCSE Attainment 8

GCSE Progress 8

Overall absence

Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)

Pupils on roll

Ethnicity over time

One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.

Sewell Park Academy

Sprowston Community Academy

Full profiles: Sewell Park Academy · Sprowston Community Academy