Sawston Village CollegeSaffron Walden County High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Sawston Village College and Saffron Walden County High School are secondary schools.
Sawston Village College scores 73 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Saffron Walden County High School scores 73 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Our score is the same for each of them on the data available.
Sawston Village College was judged Good and Saffron Walden County High School was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 55.5 for Sawston Village College and 59.7 for Saffron Walden County High School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Sawston Village College (58.0 in 2021-22, 55.5 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Saffron Walden County High School (58.1 in 2021-22, 59.7 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | CambridgeSawston Village College | Saffron WaldenSaffron Walden County High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B73/100 | B73/100 | |
| Local ranking | 8th of 34 in Cambridgeshire | 8th of 80 in Essex | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,194 | 2,119 | |
| Capacity | 1,140 | 2,050 | |
| Location | Cambridge, CB22 3BP | Saffron Walden, CB11 4UH | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 55.5 | 59.7 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 61.3% | 66.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 75.2% | 84.5% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 53.8% | 55.1% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.18 | 5.57 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 238 | 303 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 279 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 40.0 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 40.4 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 20.2% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,194 | 2,119 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 16.2% | 11.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 12.1% | 5.6% | |
| SEN support | 15.1% | 15.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.9% | 3.7% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.5% | 7.2% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 17.5% Stronger figure | 17.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Sawston Village College
Saffron Walden County High School
Full profiles: Sawston Village College · Saffron Walden County High School