Samuel Ward AcademyChurchill Special Free School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Haverhill.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Samuel Ward Academy and Churchill Special Free School in Haverhill.
Samuel Ward Academy was judged Good and Churchill Special Free School was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 43.8 for Samuel Ward Academy and 34.1 for Churchill Special Free School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Samuel Ward Academy (49.2 in 2021-22, 43.8 in 2024-25) and has risen at Churchill Special Free School (31.5 in 2021-22, 34.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | HaverhillSamuel Ward Academy | HaverhillChurchill Special Free School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D52/100 | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | 30th of 43 in Suffolk | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | Free schools special | |
| Phase | Secondary | Not reported | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 8-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,152 | 71 | |
| Capacity | 1,250 | 84 | |
| Location | Haverhill, CB9 0LD | Haverhill, CB9 0LB | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 43.8 Stronger figure | 34.1 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 42.1% Stronger figure | 15.4% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 60.5% Stronger figure | 38.5% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 20.5% Stronger figure | 0.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.76 Stronger figure | 1.60 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 195 | 13 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 25.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 103.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 99.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 49 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 21.1 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 20.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 3.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,152 | 71 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 18.9% | 23.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 14.1% | 0.0% | |
| SEN support | 10.8% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.5% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.1% | 4.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 26.3% | 7.2% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Samuel Ward Academy
Churchill Special Free School
Full profiles: Samuel Ward Academy · Churchill Special Free School