Sale Grammar SchoolDixons Brooklands Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Sale Grammar School and Dixons Brooklands Academy are secondary schools.
Sale Grammar School scores 86 out of 100 (grade A, exceptional) and Dixons Brooklands Academy scores 37 out of 100 (grade F, weak). Sale Grammar School is ahead on our composite score.
Sale Grammar School was judged Outstanding and Dixons Brooklands Academy was judged in need of attention.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 76.1 for Sale Grammar School and 36.1 for Dixons Brooklands Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Sale Grammar School (77.9 in 2021-22, 76.1 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Dixons Brooklands Academy (39.9 in 2022-23, 36.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | SaleSale Grammar School | ManchesterDixons Brooklands Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | A86/100Stronger figure | F37/100 | |
| Local ranking | 4th of 18 in Trafford | 29th of 31 in Manchester | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,350 | 999 | |
| Capacity | 1,341 | 1,050 | |
| Location | Sale, M33 3NH | Manchester, M23 9BP | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 76.1 Stronger figure | 36.1 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 96.9% Stronger figure | 18.9% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 100.0% Stronger figure | 40.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 80.7% Stronger figure | 58.2% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 7.25 Stronger figure | 3.23 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 192 | 201 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 192 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 45.3 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | A- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 45.8 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 38.5% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,350 | 999 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 3.0% | 56.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 12.0% | 15.9% | |
| SEN support | 5.3% | 16.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.7% | 3.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 3.5% Stronger figure | 16.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 4.9% Stronger figure | 40.7% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Sale Grammar School
Dixons Brooklands Academy
Full profiles: Sale Grammar School · Dixons Brooklands Academy