Saint George's Church of England SchoolMeopham School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Gravesend.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Saint George's Church of England School and Meopham School in Gravesend.
Saint George's Church of England School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Meopham School scores 50 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Saint George's Church of England School is ahead on our composite score.
Saint George's Church of England School was judged Good and Meopham School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 41.3 for Saint George's Church of England School and 39.9 for Meopham School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Saint George's Church of England School (44.3 in 2021-22, 41.3 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Meopham School (44.9 in 2021-22, 39.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | GravesendSaint George's Church of England School | GravesendMeopham School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C56/100Stronger figure | D50/100 | |
| Local ranking | 46th of 102 in Kent Stronger figure | 70th of 102 in Kent | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 4-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,572 | 957 | |
| Capacity | 1,410 | 832 | |
| Location | Gravesend, DA11 7LS | Gravesend, DA13 0AH | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 41.3 Stronger figure | 39.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 29.2% | 44.1% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 57.4% | 66.5% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 29.2% Stronger figure | 23.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.61 Stronger figure | 3.50 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 202 | 161 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 67.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 13.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 106.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 110 | 31 | |
| A-level average points | 24.9 Stronger figure | 22.3 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D+ | D+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 25.4 | 25.6 Stronger figure | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 1.5% Stronger figure | 0.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,572 | 957 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 22.0% | 20.7% | |
| English as an additional language | 13.5% | 2.2% | |
| SEN support | 14.6% | 5.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.6% | 5.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.3% Stronger figure | 10.8% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 16.8% Stronger figure | 32.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Saint George's Church of England School
Meopham School
Full profiles: Saint George's Church of England School · Meopham School