Sackville SchoolThe Gatwick School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Sackville School and The Gatwick School.
Sackville School scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average) and The Gatwick School scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Sackville School is ahead on our composite score.
Sackville School was judged Good and The Gatwick School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.1 for Sackville School and 39.7 for The Gatwick School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Sackville School (51.9 in 2021-22, 46.1 in 2024-25) and has risen at The Gatwick School (35.4 in 2021-22, 39.7 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | East GrinsteadSackville School | CrawleyThe Gatwick School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C58/100Stronger figure | D48/100 | |
| Local ranking | 23rd of 38 in West Sussex Stronger figure | 36th of 38 in West Sussex | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 4-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,599 | 846 | |
| Capacity | 1,642 | 1,020 | |
| Location | East Grinstead, RH19 3TY | Crawley, RH10 9TP | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.1 Stronger figure | 39.7 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 40.6% Stronger figure | 30.4% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 69.4% Stronger figure | 52.7% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 34.7% Stronger figure | 21.4% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.04 Stronger figure | 3.27 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 271 | 112 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 59.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 2.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 106.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 124 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 34.3 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 35.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 17.4% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,599 | 846 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 13.6% | 20.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 8.2% | 32.2% | |
| SEN support | 21.7% | 13.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.4% | 3.7% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.9% | 9.1% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 28.0% | 27.0% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Sackville School
The Gatwick School
Full profiles: Sackville School · The Gatwick School