Royal Alexandra and Albert SchoolCarrington School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Royal Alexandra and Albert School and Carrington School.
Royal Alexandra and Albert School scores 65 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Carrington School scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average). Royal Alexandra and Albert School is ahead on our composite score.
Royal Alexandra and Albert School was judged Good and Carrington School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 53.2 for Royal Alexandra and Albert School and 45.0 for Carrington School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Royal Alexandra and Albert School (52.3 in 2021-22, 53.2 in 2024-25) and has risen at Carrington School (41.9 in 2021-22, 45.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ReigateRoyal Alexandra and Albert School | RedhillCarrington School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C65/100Stronger figure | C58/100 | |
| Local ranking | 25th of 55 in Surrey Stronger figure | 34th of 55 in Surrey | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Voluntary aided school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 7-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,002 | 997 | |
| Capacity | 1,200 | 1,088 | |
| Location | Reigate, RH2 0TD | Redhill, RH1 4AD | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 53.2 Stronger figure | 45.0 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 54.2% Stronger figure | 43.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 77.8% Stronger figure | 60.9% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 50.0% | 54.2% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.85 Stronger figure | 3.96 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 144 | 179 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 46.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 104.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 104.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 79 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 30.4 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 31.4 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 8.2% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,002 | 997 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 12.0% | 28.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 6.5% | 15.4% | |
| SEN support | 9.7% | 25.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.2% | 4.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.8% Stronger figure | 7.9% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 20.0% Stronger figure | 20.8% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Royal Alexandra and Albert School
Carrington School
Full profiles: Royal Alexandra and Albert School · Carrington School