RodboroughGuildford County School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Rodborough and Guildford County School are secondary schools.
Rodborough scores 68 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Guildford County School scores 78 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Guildford County School is ahead on our composite score.
Rodborough was judged the expected standard and Guildford County School was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 54.7 for Rodborough and 59.2 for Guildford County School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Rodborough (52.2 in 2021-22, 54.7 in 2025-26) and has held broadly level at Guildford County School (60.4 in 2021-22, 59.2 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | GodalmingRodborough | GuildfordGuildford County School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C68/100 | B78/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 16th of 57 in Surrey | 9th of 57 in Surrey Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 882 | 1,170 | |
| Capacity | 900 | 1,187 | |
| Location | Godalming, GU8 5BZ | Guildford, GU2 4LU | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 54.7 | 59.2 Stronger figure | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 64.6% | 72.0% Stronger figure | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 84.3% | 87.4% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 178 | 182 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 151 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 39.8 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 40.0 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 37.4% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 880 | 1,190 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 13.8% | 8.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 10.1% | 22.9% | |
| SEN support | 12.4% | 12.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.5% | 3.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.9% | 6.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 20.6% | 16.9% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Rodborough
Guildford County School
Full profiles: Rodborough · Guildford County School