Robert Blake SchoolBridgwater College Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bridgwater.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Robert Blake School and Bridgwater College Academy in Bridgwater.
Robert Blake School scores 40 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Bridgwater College Academy scores 30 out of 100 (grade F, weak). Robert Blake School is ahead on our composite score.
Robert Blake School was judged Requires improvement and Bridgwater College Academy was judged in need of urgent improvement.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 42.9 for Robert Blake School and 31.9 for Bridgwater College Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Robert Blake School (40.2 in 2021-22, 42.9 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Bridgwater College Academy (40.4 in 2021-22, 31.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BridgwaterRobert Blake School | BridgwaterBridgwater College Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D40/100Stronger figure | F30/100 | |
| Local ranking | 29th of 34 in Somerset Stronger figure | 31st of 34 in Somerset | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvementStronger figure | Ofsted: Urgent improvement | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 3-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,042 | 1,576 | |
| Capacity | 990 | 1,880 | |
| Location | Bridgwater, TA6 6AW | Bridgwater, TA6 4QY | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 42.9 Stronger figure | 31.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 37.8% Stronger figure | 16.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 60.0% Stronger figure | 36.4% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 36.8% | 79.7% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.79 Stronger figure | 2.85 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 185 | 187 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 25.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 4.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 100.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 99.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,042 | 1,576 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 34.4% | 36.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 19.1% | 20.0% | |
| SEN support | 16.5% | 24.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.9% | 4.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.1% | 10.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 30.0% | 27.2% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Robert Blake School
Bridgwater College Academy
Full profiles: Robert Blake School · Bridgwater College Academy