Risedale SchoolRichmond School & Sixth Form College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Risedale School and Richmond School & Sixth Form College are secondary schools.
Risedale School scores 35 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Richmond School & Sixth Form College scores 62 out of 100 (grade C, average). Richmond School & Sixth Form College is ahead on our composite score.
Risedale School was judged in need of attention and Richmond School & Sixth Form College was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 29.8 for Risedale School and 45.6 for Richmond School & Sixth Form College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Risedale School (40.7 in 2021-22, 29.8 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Richmond School & Sixth Form College (52.3 in 2021-22, 45.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Catterick GarrisonRisedale School | RichmondRichmond School & Sixth Form College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F35/100 | C62/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 41st of 41 in North Yorkshire | 17th of 41 in North Yorkshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: ExpectedStronger figure | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 543 | 1,289 | |
| Capacity | 925 | 1,649 | |
| Location | Catterick Garrison, DL9 4BD | Richmond, DL10 7BQ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 29.8 | 45.6 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 5.4% | 42.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 22.5% | 65.6% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 29.7% | 43.3% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.61 | 4.11 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 111 | 215 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 70 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 35.1 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 35.0 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 16.4% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 543 | 1,289 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 33.7% | 17.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 9.2% | 3.8% | |
| SEN support | 21.2% | 16.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.5% | 2.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 11.5% | 8.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 29.8% | 21.0% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Risedale School
Richmond School & Sixth Form College
Full profiles: Risedale School · Richmond School & Sixth Form College