Ripon Grammar SchoolOutwood Academy Ripon
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Ripon.
Summary of the comparison
Ripon Grammar School and Outwood Academy Ripon are secondary schools in Ripon.
Ripon Grammar School scores 78 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Outwood Academy Ripon scores 62 out of 100 (grade C, average). Ripon Grammar School is ahead on our composite score.
Ripon Grammar School was judged Good and Outwood Academy Ripon was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 70.9 for Ripon Grammar School and 46.6 for Outwood Academy Ripon.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Ripon Grammar School (74.2 in 2021-22, 70.9 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Outwood Academy Ripon (46.1 in 2021-22, 46.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | RiponRipon Grammar School | RiponOutwood Academy Ripon | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B78/100Stronger figure | C62/100 | |
| Local ranking | 2nd of 41 in North Yorkshire Stronger figure | 16th of 41 in North Yorkshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 942 | 662 | |
| Capacity | 975 | 750 | |
| Location | Ripon, HG4 2DG | Ripon, HG4 2DE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 70.9 Stronger figure | 46.6 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 93.7% Stronger figure | 55.2% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 97.6% Stronger figure | 75.9% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 69.0% Stronger figure | 26.2% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 6.52 Stronger figure | 4.07 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 126 | 145 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 152 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 44.5 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 44.3 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 35.5% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 942 | 662 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 4.3% | 27.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 7.5% | 9.2% | |
| SEN support | 4.9% | 13.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.4% | 3.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 4.8% Stronger figure | 7.4% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 10.1% Stronger figure | 19.9% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Ripon Grammar School
Outwood Academy Ripon
Full profiles: Ripon Grammar School · Outwood Academy Ripon