Ridgeway High SchoolBirkenhead High School Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Prenton.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Ridgeway High School and Birkenhead High School Academy in Prenton.
Ridgeway High School scores 49 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Birkenhead High School Academy scores 65 out of 100 (grade C, average). Birkenhead High School Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Ridgeway High School was judged Good and Birkenhead High School Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 39.2 for Ridgeway High School and 50.5 for Birkenhead High School Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Ridgeway High School (38.8 in 2021-22, 39.2 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Birkenhead High School Academy (50.4 in 2021-22, 50.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | PrentonRidgeway High School | PrentonBirkenhead High School Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D49/100 | C65/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 14th of 19 in Wirral | 7th of 19 in Wirral Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 3-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Girls | |
| Pupils on roll | 903 | 1,212 | |
| Capacity | 885 | 1,293 | |
| Location | Prenton, CH43 9EB | Prenton, CH43 1TY | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 39.2 | 50.5 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 25.1% | 45.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 52.6% | 70.8% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 5.1% | 44.5% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.09 | 4.41 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 175 | 137 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 61.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 105.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 103.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 44 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 34.9 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 36.0 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 3.1% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 903 | 1,212 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 58.7% | 18.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 6.3% | 6.3% | |
| SEN support | 21.0% | 15.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 7.1% | 3.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 12.8% | 6.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 43.3% | 16.6% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Ridgeway High School
Birkenhead High School Academy
Full profiles: Ridgeway High School · Birkenhead High School Academy