Rawmarsh Community SchoolSwinton Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Rawmarsh Community School and Swinton Academy are secondary schools.
Rawmarsh Community School scores 47 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Swinton Academy scores 53 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Swinton Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Rawmarsh Community School was judged the expected standard and Swinton Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 38.8 for Rawmarsh Community School and 41.1 for Swinton Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Rawmarsh Community School (47.3 in 2021-22, 38.8 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Swinton Academy (43.5 in 2021-22, 41.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | RotherhamRawmarsh Community School | MexboroughSwinton Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D47/100 | D53/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 12th of 15 in Rotherham | 9th of 15 in Rotherham Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,091 | 991 | |
| Capacity | 1,075 | 1,320 | |
| Location | Rotherham, S62 7GA | Mexborough, S64 8JW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 38.8 | 41.1 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 35.7% | 42.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 51.7% | 61.3% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 26.1% | 40.5% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.18 | 3.57 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 207 | 163 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 32 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 32.7 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 37.1 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 20.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,091 | 991 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 41.3% | 33.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.7% | 5.4% | |
| SEN support | 26.9% | 17.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.2% | 4.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.8% | 9.8% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.4% Stronger figure | 29.3% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Rawmarsh Community School
Swinton Academy
Full profiles: Rawmarsh Community School · Swinton Academy