Queen Elizabeth'sThomas Hall School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Queen Elizabeth's and Thomas Hall School.
Queen Elizabeth's scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Thomas Hall School scores 38 out of 100 (grade F, weak). Queen Elizabeth's is ahead on our composite score.
Queen Elizabeth's was judged the expected standard and Thomas Hall School was judged Requires improvement.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.2 for Queen Elizabeth's and 34.6 for Thomas Hall School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Queen Elizabeth's (50.3 in 2021-22, 46.2 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Thomas Hall School (41.9 in 2021-22, 34.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | CreditonQueen Elizabeth's | ExeterThomas Hall School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C59/100Stronger figure | F38/100 | |
| Local ranking | 13th of 40 in Devon Stronger figure | 39th of 40 in Devon | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: ExpectedStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy converter | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 4-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,138 | 458 | |
| Capacity | 1,650 | 720 | |
| Location | Crediton, EX17 3LU | Exeter, EX4 5AD | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.2 Stronger figure | 34.6 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 49.7% Stronger figure | 25.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 67.7% Stronger figure | 46.2% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 68.7% Stronger figure | 25.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.29 Stronger figure | 2.94 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 195 | 52 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 64.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 7.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 106.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 63 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 31.1 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 29.2 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 9.5% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,138 | 458 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 18.9% | 31.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.5% | 12.9% | |
| SEN support | 16.1% | 22.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.2% | 9.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.2% Stronger figure | 13.1% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.4% Stronger figure | 39.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Queen Elizabeth's
Thomas Hall School
Full profiles: Queen Elizabeth's · Thomas Hall School