Queen Elizabeth's Grammar SchoolRyecroft CofE Middle School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School and Ryecroft CofE Middle School.
Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Ryecroft CofE Middle School scores 53 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School is ahead on our composite score.
Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School was judged Good and Ryecroft CofE Middle School was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has risen at Ryecroft CofE Middle School (45.0% in 2022-23, 60.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | AshbourneQueen Elizabeth's Grammar School | RocesterRyecroft CofE Middle School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C58/100Stronger figure | D53/100 | |
| Local ranking | 18th of 45 in Derbyshire | 36th of 70 in Staffordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Middle deemed secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 9-13 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,298 | 199 | |
| Capacity | 1,420 | 240 | |
| Location | Ashbourne, DE6 1EP | Rocester, ST14 5PB | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.2 | Not reported | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 44.5% | Not reported | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 71.6% | Not reported | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 29.4% | Not reported | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.24 | Not reported | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 218 | Not reported | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 60.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 5.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 87 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 37.0 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 37.4 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 19.7% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,298 | 199 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 18.7% | 15.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 3.9% | 6.0% | |
| SEN support | 17.6% | 17.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.9% | 4.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.6% | 5.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 22.0% | 11.3% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School
Ryecroft CofE Middle School
Full profiles: Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School · Ryecroft CofE Middle School