Priory SchoolBrighton Aldridge Community Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Priory School and Brighton Aldridge Community Academy are secondary schools.
Priory School scores 62 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Brighton Aldridge Community Academy scores 44 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Priory School is ahead on our composite score.
Priory School was judged Good and Brighton Aldridge Community Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.4 for Priory School and 36.2 for Brighton Aldridge Community Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Priory School (55.6 in 2021-22, 46.4 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Brighton Aldridge Community Academy (37.4 in 2021-22, 36.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | LewesPriory School | BrightonBrighton Aldridge Community Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C62/100Stronger figure | D44/100 | |
| Local ranking | 8th of 24 in East Sussex | 9th of 10 in Brighton and Hove | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,163 | 813 | |
| Capacity | 1,160 | 1,150 | |
| Location | Lewes, BN7 2XN | Brighton, BN1 9PW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.4 Stronger figure | 36.2 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 52.4% Stronger figure | 23.3% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 69.3% Stronger figure | 44.8% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 64.4% Stronger figure | 23.3% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.35 Stronger figure | 3.15 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 225 | 116 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 9 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 18.8 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | D | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,163 | 813 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 19.4% | 50.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.0% | 13.2% | |
| SEN support | 24.1% | 29.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.3% | 7.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 12.1% Stronger figure | 15.2% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 32.9% Stronger figure | 42.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Priory School
Brighton Aldridge Community Academy
Full profiles: Priory School · Brighton Aldridge Community Academy