Priory AcademyQueensbury Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Dunstable.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Priory Academy and Queensbury Academy in Dunstable.
Priory Academy scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Queensbury Academy scores 46 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Priory Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Priory Academy was judged Good and Queensbury Academy was judged in need of attention.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.2 for Priory Academy and 40.0 for Queensbury Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Priory Academy (53.7 in 2021-22, 46.2 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Queensbury Academy (43.2 in 2021-22, 40.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | DunstablePriory Academy | DunstableQueensbury Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C60/100Stronger figure | D46/100 | |
| Local ranking | 5th of 26 in Central Bedfordshire Stronger figure | 16th of 26 in Central Bedfordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 9-16 | 11-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 808 | 1,154 | |
| Capacity | 700 | 1,350 | |
| Location | Dunstable, LU5 4JA | Dunstable, LU6 3BU | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.2 Stronger figure | 40.0 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 49.5% Stronger figure | 33.5% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 69.9% Stronger figure | 56.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 30.1% Stronger figure | 28.2% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.08 Stronger figure | 3.37 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 103 | 206 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 65.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 7.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 104.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 68 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 28.9 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 29.1 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 3.5% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 808 | 1,154 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 13.7% | 14.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 16.7% | 21.0% | |
| SEN support | 10.8% | 11.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.2% | 3.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.3% Stronger figure | 8.7% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 17.7% Stronger figure | 23.7% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Priory Academy
Queensbury Academy
Full profiles: Priory Academy · Queensbury Academy