Pimlico AcademySt. Thomas More Language College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in London.
Summary of the comparison
Pimlico Academy and St. Thomas More Language College are secondary schools in London.
Pimlico Academy scores 68 out of 100 (grade C, average) and St. Thomas More Language College scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average). Pimlico Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Pimlico Academy was judged strong and St. Thomas More Language College was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 54.2 for Pimlico Academy and 45.9 for St. Thomas More Language College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Pimlico Academy (55.2 in 2021-22, 54.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | LondonPimlico Academy | LondonSt. Thomas More Language College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C68/100Stronger figure | C60/100 | |
| Local ranking | 6th of 11 in Westminster | 6th of 6 in Kensington and Chelsea | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: StrongStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,095 | 541 | |
| Capacity | 1,250 | 597 | |
| Location | London, SW1V 3AT | London, SW3 2QS | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 54.2 Stronger figure | 45.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 57.7% Stronger figure | 46.7% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 75.7% Stronger figure | 64.8% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 79.4% Stronger figure | 17.2% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.19 Stronger figure | 3.88 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 189 | 122 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 61 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 38.6 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 38.3 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 19.7% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,095 | 541 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 57.9% | 42.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 37.5% | 48.2% | |
| SEN support | 7.0% | 12.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.8% | 3.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.1% Stronger figure | 10.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 25.1% Stronger figure | 33.0% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: Pimlico Academy · St. Thomas More Language College