Peak Forest Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary SchoolBishop Pursglove CofE (A) Primary School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Buxton.
Summary of the comparison
Peak Forest Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School and Bishop Pursglove CofE (A) Primary School are primary schools in Buxton.
Peak Forest Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School scores 73 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Bishop Pursglove CofE (A) Primary School scores 49 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Peak Forest Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School is ahead on our composite score.
Peak Forest Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School was judged Good and Bishop Pursglove CofE (A) Primary School was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has risen at Bishop Pursglove CofE (A) Primary School (32.0% in 2022-23, 55.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BuxtonPeak Forest Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School | BuxtonBishop Pursglove CofE (A) Primary School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B73/100Stronger figure | D49/100 | |
| Local ranking | 264th of 336 in Derbyshire | 178th of 336 in Derbyshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Voluntary controlled school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Primary | Primary | |
| Age range | 4-11 | 4-11 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 32 | 79 | |
| Capacity | 49 | 178 | |
| Location | Buxton, SK17 8EJ | Buxton, SK17 8NE | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 55.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 18.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 103.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 32 | 79 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 15.6% | 22.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 0.0% | 3.8% | |
| SEN support | 25.0% | 11.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.0% | 0.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 3.3% Stronger figure | 3.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 7.7% | 5.6% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Peak Forest Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School
Bishop Pursglove CofE (A) Primary School
Full profiles: Peak Forest Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School · Bishop Pursglove CofE (A) Primary School