Outwood Academy OrmesbyNunthorpe Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Middlesbrough.
Summary of the comparison
Outwood Academy Ormesby and Nunthorpe Academy are secondary schools in Middlesbrough.
Outwood Academy Ormesby scores 33 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Nunthorpe Academy scores 44 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Nunthorpe Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Outwood Academy Ormesby was judged the expected standard and Nunthorpe Academy was judged Requires improvement.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 33.1 for Outwood Academy Ormesby and 47.0 for Nunthorpe Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Outwood Academy Ormesby (34.6 in 2021-22, 33.1 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Nunthorpe Academy (53.5 in 2021-22, 47.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | MiddlesbroughOutwood Academy Ormesby | MiddlesbroughNunthorpe Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F33/100 | D44/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 8th of 8 in Middlesbrough | 8th of 10 in Redcar and Cleveland | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: ExpectedStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 738 | 1,410 | |
| Capacity | 825 | 1,675 | |
| Location | Middlesbrough, TS3 0RH | Middlesbrough, TS7 0LA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 33.1 | 47.0 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 29.9% | 45.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 50.4% | 63.8% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 5.5% | 60.6% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.62 | 4.23 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 127 | 254 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 62 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 31.9 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 32.3 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 10.7% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 738 | 1,410 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 65.0% | 23.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.7% | 2.6% | |
| SEN support | 20.9% | 13.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.7% | 1.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 15.3% | 11.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 44.5% | 30.3% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Outwood Academy Ormesby
Nunthorpe Academy
Full profiles: Outwood Academy Ormesby · Nunthorpe Academy