Outwood Academy NewboldSpringwell Community College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Chesterfield.
Summary of the comparison
Outwood Academy Newbold and Springwell Community College are secondary schools in Chesterfield.
Outwood Academy Newbold scores 63 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Springwell Community College scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Outwood Academy Newbold is ahead on our composite score.
Outwood Academy Newbold was judged Good and Springwell Community College was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 48.9 for Outwood Academy Newbold and 37.9 for Springwell Community College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Outwood Academy Newbold (44.5 in 2021-22, 48.9 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Springwell Community College (39.7 in 2021-22, 37.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ChesterfieldOutwood Academy Newbold | ChesterfieldSpringwell Community College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C63/100Stronger figure | D48/100 | |
| Local ranking | 6th of 45 in Derbyshire Stronger figure | 36th of 45 in Derbyshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,011 | 881 | |
| Capacity | 1,028 | 850 | |
| Location | Chesterfield, S41 8BA | Chesterfield, S43 3NQ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.9 Stronger figure | 37.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 50.9% Stronger figure | 29.2% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 72.8% Stronger figure | 58.5% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 30.1% Stronger figure | 10.5% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.22 Stronger figure | 3.20 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 173 | 171 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 46 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 32.1 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.6 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 6.9% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,011 | 881 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 36.9% | 43.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.0% | 0.6% | |
| SEN support | 16.1% | 9.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.3% | 4.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.1% Stronger figure | 9.8% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 14.5% Stronger figure | 21.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Outwood Academy Newbold
Springwell Community College
Full profiles: Outwood Academy Newbold · Springwell Community College