Outwood Academy AcklamTrinity Catholic College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Middlesbrough.
Summary of the comparison
Outwood Academy Acklam and Trinity Catholic College are secondary schools in Middlesbrough.
Outwood Academy Acklam scores 52 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Trinity Catholic College scores 44 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Outwood Academy Acklam is ahead on our composite score.
Outwood Academy Acklam was judged the expected standard and Trinity Catholic College was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 42.9 for Outwood Academy Acklam and 42.6 for Trinity Catholic College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Outwood Academy Acklam (40.0 in 2021-22, 42.9 in 2024-25) and has risen at Trinity Catholic College (39.6 in 2021-22, 42.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | MiddlesbroughOutwood Academy Acklam | MiddlesbroughTrinity Catholic College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D52/100Stronger figure | D44/100 | |
| Local ranking | 3rd of 8 in Middlesbrough Stronger figure | 5th of 8 in Middlesbrough | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,185 | 1,303 | |
| Capacity | 1,350 | 1,500 | |
| Location | Middlesbrough, TS5 7JY | Middlesbrough, TS4 3JW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 42.9 Stronger figure | 42.6 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 47.1% Stronger figure | 40.1% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 65.2% Stronger figure | 57.2% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 14.2% | 24.8% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.75 Stronger figure | 3.54 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 204 | 222 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 44 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 28.3 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 31.8 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 10.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,185 | 1,303 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 52.9% | 45.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 32.1% | 16.6% | |
| SEN support | 19.2% | 12.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.0% | 1.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.6% Stronger figure | 10.1% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 28.4% Stronger figure | 30.7% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Outwood Academy Acklam
Trinity Catholic College
Full profiles: Outwood Academy Acklam · Trinity Catholic College