Ormiston Park AcademyHarris Academy Ockendon
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in South Ockendon.
Summary of the comparison
Ormiston Park Academy and Harris Academy Ockendon are secondary schools in South Ockendon.
Ormiston Park Academy scores 34 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Harris Academy Ockendon scores 71 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Harris Academy Ockendon is ahead on our composite score.
Ormiston Park Academy was judged Requires improvement and Harris Academy Ockendon was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 37.5 for Ormiston Park Academy and 47.3 for Harris Academy Ockendon.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Ormiston Park Academy (40.2 in 2021-22, 37.5 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Harris Academy Ockendon (50.5 in 2021-22, 47.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | South OckendonOrmiston Park Academy | South OckendonHarris Academy Ockendon | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F34/100 | B71/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 11th of 13 in Thurrock | 3rd of 13 in Thurrock Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 669 | 1,420 | |
| Capacity | 750 | Not reported | |
| Location | South Ockendon, RM15 4RU | South Ockendon, RM15 5AY | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 37.5 | 47.3 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 28.3% | 49.4% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 48.0% | 67.9% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 11.8% | 81.4% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.08 | 4.44 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 127 | 237 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 105 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 32.6 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 33.8 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 11.3% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 669 | 1,420 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 37.5% | 28.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 19.9% | 28.9% | |
| SEN support | 11.4% | 8.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 7.0% | 2.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.8% | 6.2% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 32.3% | 15.4% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Ormiston Park Academy
Harris Academy Ockendon
Full profiles: Ormiston Park Academy · Harris Academy Ockendon