Ormiston Ilkeston Enterprise AcademyKirk Hallam Community Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Ilkeston.
Summary of the comparison
Ormiston Ilkeston Enterprise Academy and Kirk Hallam Community Academy are secondary schools in Ilkeston.
Ormiston Ilkeston Enterprise Academy scores 52 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Kirk Hallam Community Academy scores 39 out of 100 (grade F, weak). Ormiston Ilkeston Enterprise Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Ormiston Ilkeston Enterprise Academy was judged Good and Kirk Hallam Community Academy was judged in need of attention.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 40.5 for Ormiston Ilkeston Enterprise Academy and 38.7 for Kirk Hallam Community Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Ormiston Ilkeston Enterprise Academy (42.6 in 2021-22, 40.5 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Kirk Hallam Community Academy (44.7 in 2021-22, 38.7 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | IlkestonOrmiston Ilkeston Enterprise Academy | IlkestonKirk Hallam Community Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D52/100Stronger figure | F39/100 | |
| Local ranking | 29th of 45 in Derbyshire Stronger figure | 44th of 45 in Derbyshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 972 | 752 | |
| Capacity | 820 | 1,202 | |
| Location | Ilkeston, DE7 5HS | Ilkeston, DE7 4HH | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 40.5 Stronger figure | 38.7 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 38.0% Stronger figure | 27.5% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 59.9% Stronger figure | 52.9% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 7.5% Stronger figure | 5.1% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.47 Stronger figure | 3.23 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 187 | 138 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 48 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 24.5 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | D+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 22.7 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 3.6% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 972 | 752 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 46.5% | 45.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.5% | 1.7% | |
| SEN support | 14.3% | 20.5% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.3% | 2.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.9% Stronger figure | 11.1% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 26.0% Stronger figure | 31.0% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Ormiston Ilkeston Enterprise Academy
Kirk Hallam Community Academy
Full profiles: Ormiston Ilkeston Enterprise Academy · Kirk Hallam Community Academy