Ormiston Horizon AcademyBiddulph High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Stoke-on-Trent.
Summary of the comparison
Ormiston Horizon Academy and Biddulph High School are secondary schools in Stoke-on-Trent.
Ormiston Horizon Academy scores 41 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Biddulph High School scores 51 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Biddulph High School is ahead on our composite score.
Ormiston Horizon Academy was judged Good and Biddulph High School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 37.3 for Ormiston Horizon Academy and 43.3 for Biddulph High School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Ormiston Horizon Academy (41.4 in 2021-22, 37.3 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Biddulph High School (45.0 in 2021-22, 43.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Stoke-on-TrentOrmiston Horizon Academy | Stoke-on-TrentBiddulph High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D41/100 | D51/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 12th of 14 in Stoke-on-Trent | 41st of 70 in Staffordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 13-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,029 | 770 | |
| Capacity | 1,050 | 867 | |
| Location | Stoke-on-Trent, ST6 6JZ | Stoke-on-Trent, ST8 7AR | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 37.3 | 43.3 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 29.3% | 35.6% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 51.0% | 60.0% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 7.6% | 22.9% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.13 | 3.60 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 198 | 205 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 39 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 31.3 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 33.3 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 12.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,029 | 770 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 42.5% | 20.7% | |
| English as an additional language | 7.8% | 1.2% | |
| SEN support | 18.3% | 9.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.3% | 2.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 11.6% | 8.7% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 34.1% | 22.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Ormiston Horizon Academy
Biddulph High School
Full profiles: Ormiston Horizon Academy · Biddulph High School