Ormiston Forge AcademyThe Earls High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Ormiston Forge Academy and The Earls High School are secondary schools.
Ormiston Forge Academy scores 52 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and The Earls High School scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average). The Earls High School is ahead on our composite score.
Ormiston Forge Academy was judged Good and The Earls High School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 39.7 for Ormiston Forge Academy and 48.2 for The Earls High School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Ormiston Forge Academy (43.6 in 2021-22, 39.7 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at The Earls High School (48.3 in 2021-22, 48.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Cradley HeathOrmiston Forge Academy | HalesowenThe Earls High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D52/100 | C57/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 15th of 20 in Sandwell | 7th of 18 in Dudley | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,686 | 1,293 | |
| Capacity | 1,950 | 1,200 | |
| Location | Cradley Heath, B64 6QU | Halesowen, B63 3SL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 39.7 | 48.2 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 30.6% | 46.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 55.8% | 74.6% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 20.4% | 32.5% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.34 | 4.22 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 294 | 240 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 55 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 27.6 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 28.4 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 3.4% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,686 | 1,293 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 41.1% | 21.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 13.6% | 4.6% | |
| SEN support | 12.1% | 10.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.1% | 2.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.8% | 7.4% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 30.3% | 18.8% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Ormiston Forge Academy
The Earls High School
Full profiles: Ormiston Forge Academy · The Earls High School