Ormiston Bolingbroke AcademyThe Heath School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Runcorn.
Summary of the comparison
Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy and The Heath School are secondary schools in Runcorn.
Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy scores 40 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and The Heath School scores 55 out of 100 (grade C, average). The Heath School is ahead on our composite score.
Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy was judged in need of attention and The Heath School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 35.8 for Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy and 42.5 for The Heath School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy (42.5 in 2021-22, 35.8 in 2024-25) and has fallen at The Heath School (47.6 in 2021-22, 42.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | RuncornOrmiston Bolingbroke Academy | RuncornThe Heath School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D40/100 | C55/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 7th of 8 in Halton | 2nd of 8 in Halton Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Needs attention | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 829 | 1,185 | |
| Capacity | 1,250 | 1,200 | |
| Location | Runcorn, WA7 6EP | Runcorn, WA7 4SY | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 35.8 | 42.5 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 33.3% | 36.9% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 52.6% | 61.4% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 2.2% | 20.6% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.73 | 3.69 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 135 | 233 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 37 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 25.2 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 25.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 7.7% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 829 | 1,185 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 58.3% | 34.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.9% | 2.4% | |
| SEN support | 21.1% | 17.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.1% | 2.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 13.2% | 9.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 37.6% | 25.9% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy
The Heath School
Full profiles: Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy · The Heath School