Oriel High SchoolThe Gatwick School

Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Crawley.

Summary of the comparison

This page compares Oriel High School and The Gatwick School in Crawley.

  • Oriel High School scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average) and The Gatwick School scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Oriel High School is ahead on our composite score.

  • Oriel High School was judged the expected standard and The Gatwick School was judged Good.

  • On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 45.4 for Oriel High School and 39.7 for The Gatwick School.

  • GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Oriel High School (49.5 in 2021-22, 45.4 in 2024-25) and has risen at The Gatwick School (35.4 in 2021-22, 39.7 in 2024-25).

Side-by-side comparison

Oriel High School versus The Gatwick School compared on inspection, results, pupils and attendance.
Measure CrawleyOriel High SchoolCrawleyThe Gatwick SchoolEngland average
Overview
Our scoreC59/100Stronger figureD48/100
Local ranking19th of 38 in West Sussex Stronger figure36th of 38 in West Sussex
InspectionOfsted: GoodOfsted: Good
School typeCommunity school Free schools
PhaseSecondary All-through
Age range11-18 4-16
GenderMixed Mixed
Pupils on roll1,478 846
Capacity1,450 1,020
LocationCrawley, RH10 7XW Crawley, RH10 9TP
GCSE results
Attainment 845.4 Stronger figure39.7 46.0
Grade 5+ in English & maths43.3% Stronger figure30.4% 45.4%
Grade 4+ in English & maths63.3% Stronger figure52.7% 64.8%
Entering EBacc13.8% 21.4% Stronger figure40.5%
EBacc average point score3.86 Stronger figure3.27 4.09
Cohort240 112
Key Stage 2 (SATs)
Reading, writing & maths at expected standardNot reported59.0% 62.0%
At higher standardNot reported2.0% 8.0%
Reading average scaled scoreNot reported106.0 106.0
Maths average scaled scoreNot reported104.0 105.0
A-level results
A-level entries98 Not reported
A-level average points34.6 Not reported35.0
A-level average gradeC+ Not reported
Best 3 A-levels points34.4 Not reported35.8
AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects22.4% Not reported17.5%
Pupils
Pupils in the census1,478 846
Free school meals (ever 6)14.9% 20.4%
English as an additional language10.6% 32.2%
SEN support16.4% 13.9%
SEN with an EHC plan2.8% 3.7%
Attendance
Overall absence8.8% Stronger figure9.1% 6.2%
Persistent absence26.4% Stronger figure27.0% 15.8%

marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.

Historical trends

Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.

GCSE Attainment 8

GCSE Progress 8

Overall absence

Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)

Pupils on roll

Ethnicity over time

One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.

Oriel High School

The Gatwick School

Full profiles: Oriel High School · The Gatwick School