Okehampton Primary School and Foundation UnitThe Promise School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Okehampton.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Okehampton Primary School and Foundation Unit and The Promise School in Okehampton.
Okehampton Primary School and Foundation Unit was judged Good and The Promise School was judged in need of urgent improvement.
On the share of pupils meeting the expected standard in reading, writing and maths at Key Stage 2, the latest published figures are 55.0% for Okehampton Primary School and Foundation Unit and 0.0% for The Promise School.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has risen at Okehampton Primary School and Foundation Unit (24.0% in 2022-23, 55.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | OkehamptonOkehampton Primary School and Foundation Unit | OkehamptonThe Promise School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F38/100 | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | 246th of 302 in Devon | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Inadequate | |
| School type | Academy converter | Free schools special | |
| Phase | Primary | Not reported | |
| Age range | 2-11 | 4-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 420 | 79 | |
| Capacity | 630 | 100 | |
| Location | Okehampton, EX20 1JB | Okehampton, EX20 1PU | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | Not reported | 3.1 | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | Not reported | 0.0% | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | Not reported | 0.0% | 64.8% |
| Cohort | Not reported | 8 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 55.0% Stronger figure | 0.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 2.0% Stronger figure | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 104.0 Stronger figure | 92.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 102.0 Stronger figure | 90.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 442 | 79 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 28.0% | 68.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 9.3% | 2.5% | |
| SEN support | 14.0% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.7% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.0% Stronger figure | 30.8% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 15.4% Stronger figure | 75.9% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Okehampton Primary School and Foundation Unit
The Promise School
Full profiles: Okehampton Primary School and Foundation Unit · The Promise School