Oasis Academy BrightstoweSt Katherine's School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bristol.
Summary of the comparison
Oasis Academy Brightstowe and St Katherine's School are secondary schools in Bristol.
Oasis Academy Brightstowe scores 36 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and St Katherine's School scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average). St Katherine's School is ahead on our composite score.
Oasis Academy Brightstowe was judged the expected standard and St Katherine's School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 38.2 for Oasis Academy Brightstowe and 50.0 for St Katherine's School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Oasis Academy Brightstowe (39.3 in 2021-22, 38.2 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at St Katherine's School (51.9 in 2021-22, 50.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BristolOasis Academy Brightstowe | BristolSt Katherine's School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F36/100 | C57/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 20th of 23 in Bristol | 7th of 11 in North Somerset | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 739 | 998 | |
| Capacity | 945 | 1,001 | |
| Location | Bristol, BS11 0EB | Bristol, BS20 0HU | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 38.2 | 50.0 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 26.8% | 47.1% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 50.4% | 69.4% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 22.8% | 23.5% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.33 | 4.31 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 127 | 170 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 45 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 30.6 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 30.7 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 8.3% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 739 | 998 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 51.3% | 24.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 14.3% | 11.5% | |
| SEN support | 22.3% | 4.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.1% | 4.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 14.5% | 9.8% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 39.0% | 26.1% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Oasis Academy Brightstowe
St Katherine's School
Full profiles: Oasis Academy Brightstowe · St Katherine's School