Oakwood Park Grammar SchoolSt Augustine Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Maidstone.
Summary of the comparison
Oakwood Park Grammar School and St Augustine Academy are secondary schools in Maidstone.
Oakwood Park Grammar School scores 75 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and St Augustine Academy scores 45 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Oakwood Park Grammar School is ahead on our composite score.
Oakwood Park Grammar School was judged Good and St Augustine Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 68.9 for Oakwood Park Grammar School and 35.1 for St Augustine Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Oakwood Park Grammar School (68.4 in 2021-22, 68.9 in 2024-25) and has fallen at St Augustine Academy (42.0 in 2021-22, 35.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | MaidstoneOakwood Park Grammar School | MaidstoneSt Augustine Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B75/100Stronger figure | D45/100 | |
| Local ranking | 17th of 102 in Kent Stronger figure | 81st of 102 in Kent | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Boys | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,088 | 736 | |
| Capacity | 1,035 | 750 | |
| Location | Maidstone, ME16 8AH | Maidstone, ME16 8AE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 68.9 Stronger figure | 35.1 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 93.0% Stronger figure | 20.1% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 97.5% Stronger figure | 45.6% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 93.7% Stronger figure | 24.2% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 6.60 Stronger figure | 2.93 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 158 | 149 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 140 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 38.5 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 38.4 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 20.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,088 | 736 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 7.6% | 34.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 14.6% | 12.2% | |
| SEN support | 1.8% | 17.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.5% | 4.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 5.0% Stronger figure | 9.1% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 10.3% Stronger figure | 27.3% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Oakwood Park Grammar School
St Augustine Academy
Full profiles: Oakwood Park Grammar School · St Augustine Academy