Oakley Cross Primary School and NurseryCopeland Road Primary School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bishop Auckland.
Summary of the comparison
Oakley Cross Primary School and Nursery and Copeland Road Primary School are primary schools in Bishop Auckland.
Oakley Cross Primary School and Nursery scores 39 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Copeland Road Primary School scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average). Copeland Road Primary School is ahead on our composite score.
Oakley Cross Primary School and Nursery was judged Good and Copeland Road Primary School was judged the expected standard.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has risen at Oakley Cross Primary School and Nursery (33.0% in 2022-23, 56.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Bishop AucklandOakley Cross Primary School and Nursery | Bishop AucklandCopeland Road Primary School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F39/100 | C57/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 160th of 202 in County Durham Stronger figure | 198th of 202 in County Durham | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Primary | Primary | |
| Age range | 2-11 | 4-11 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 154 | 139 | |
| Capacity | 119 | 169 | |
| Location | Bishop Auckland, DL14 9UD | Bishop Auckland, DL14 9JJ | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 56.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 11.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 154 | 139 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 44.3% | 36.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.9% | 0.7% | |
| SEN support | 26.6% | 17.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.9% | 2.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.7% | 6.4% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 22.8% | 18.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: Oakley Cross Primary School and Nursery · Copeland Road Primary School