Norton CollegeMalton School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Malton.
Summary of the comparison
Norton College and Malton School are secondary schools in Malton.
Norton College scores 47 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Malton School scores 63 out of 100 (grade C, average). Malton School is ahead on our composite score.
Norton College was judged Good and Malton School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 41.0 for Norton College and 46.6 for Malton School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Norton College (46.6 in 2021-22, 41.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | MaltonNorton College | MaltonMalton School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D47/100 | C63/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 31st of 41 in North Yorkshire Stronger figure | 35th of 41 in North Yorkshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 692 | 1,041 | |
| Capacity | 1,028 | 980 | |
| Location | Malton, YO17 9PT | Malton, YO17 7NH | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 41.0 | 46.6 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 36.1% | 50.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 57.9% | 74.8% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 33.8% | 36.5% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.58 | 4.25 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 133 | 159 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 11 | 99 | |
| A-level average points | 13.7 | 31.7 Stronger figure | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | E+ | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 32.7 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 13.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 692 | 1,041 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 26.6% | 21.7% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.1% | 6.5% | |
| SEN support | 10.6% | 8.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.0% | 2.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 11.6% | 7.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 34.7% | 22.9% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: Norton College · Malton School