Newcastle CofE Primary SchoolSt George's CofE Academy, Clun
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Craven Arms.
Summary of the comparison
Newcastle CofE Primary School and St George's CofE Academy, Clun are primary schools in Craven Arms.
Newcastle CofE Primary School scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average) and St George's CofE Academy, Clun scores 73 out of 100 (grade B, strong). St George's CofE Academy, Clun is ahead on our composite score.
Newcastle CofE Primary School was judged Good and St George's CofE Academy, Clun was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has fallen at St George's CofE Academy, Clun (67.0% in 2022-23, 57.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Craven ArmsNewcastle CofE Primary School | Craven ArmsSt George's CofE Academy, Clun | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C60/100 | B73/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 102nd of 106 in Shropshire | 12th of 106 in Shropshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Voluntary controlled school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Primary | Primary | |
| Age range | 5-11 | 3-11 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 18 | 109 | |
| Capacity | 56 | 120 | |
| Location | Craven Arms, SY7 8QL | Craven Arms, SY7 8JQ | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 57.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 103.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 18 | 109 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 27.8% | 5.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.6% | 0.0% | |
| SEN support | 33.3% | 9.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.0% | 1.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.4% | 4.8% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 27.8% | 10.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Newcastle CofE Primary School
St George's CofE Academy, Clun
Full profiles: Newcastle CofE Primary School · St George's CofE Academy, Clun