Murray Park Community SchoolJohn Port Spencer Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Derby.
Summary of the comparison
Murray Park Community School and John Port Spencer Academy are secondary schools in Derby.
Murray Park Community School scores 55 out of 100 (grade C, average) and John Port Spencer Academy scores 63 out of 100 (grade C, average). John Port Spencer Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Murray Park Community School was judged Good and John Port Spencer Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 40.6 for Murray Park Community School and 51.4 for John Port Spencer Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Murray Park Community School (45.0 in 2021-22, 40.6 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at John Port Spencer Academy (53.0 in 2021-22, 51.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | DerbyMurray Park Community School | DerbyJohn Port Spencer Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C55/100 | C63/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 8th of 16 in Derby | 8th of 45 in Derbyshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,210 | 2,023 | |
| Capacity | 1,400 | 2,070 | |
| Location | Derby, DE3 9LL | Derby, DE65 6LU | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 40.6 | 51.4 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 33.3% | 54.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 54.0% | 79.1% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 42.7% Stronger figure | 18.4% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.63 | 4.39 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 213 | 320 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 158 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 35.1 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 36.8 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 21.5% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,210 | 2,023 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 35.5% | 17.7% | |
| English as an additional language | 15.5% | 3.1% | |
| SEN support | 28.7% | 17.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.7% | 1.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.0% | 6.8% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 25.1% | 19.1% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Murray Park Community School
John Port Spencer Academy
Full profiles: Murray Park Community School · John Port Spencer Academy