Maharishi Free SchoolOrmskirk School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Ormskirk.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Maharishi Free School and Ormskirk School in Ormskirk.
Maharishi Free School scores 62 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Ormskirk School scores 51 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Maharishi Free School is ahead on our composite score.
Maharishi Free School was judged the expected standard and Ormskirk School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 54.1 for Maharishi Free School and 42.4 for Ormskirk School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Maharishi Free School (52.6 in 2021-22, 54.1 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Ormskirk School (43.5 in 2022-23, 42.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | OrmskirkMaharishi Free School | OrmskirkOrmskirk School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C62/100Stronger figure | D51/100 | |
| Local ranking | 21st of 80 in Lancashire Stronger figure | 50th of 80 in Lancashire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Free schools | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 4-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 224 | 1,212 | |
| Capacity | 240 | 1,590 | |
| Location | Ormskirk, L40 6JJ | Ormskirk, L39 2AT | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 54.1 Stronger figure | 42.4 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 55.0% Stronger figure | 40.1% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 80.0% Stronger figure | 60.8% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 90.0% Stronger figure | 14.2% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.35 Stronger figure | 3.63 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 20 | 212 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 50.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 103.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 102.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 63 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 24.7 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | D+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 26.4 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 19.4% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 224 | 1,212 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 15.6% | 21.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.8% | 5.1% | |
| SEN support | 19.6% | 14.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.3% | 1.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.7% Stronger figure | 11.8% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 33.6% | 33.4% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Maharishi Free School
Ormskirk School
Full profiles: Maharishi Free School · Ormskirk School