Lord Lawson of Beamish AcademyOxclose Community Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Lord Lawson of Beamish Academy and Oxclose Community Academy are secondary schools.
Lord Lawson of Beamish Academy scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Oxclose Community Academy scores 52 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Lord Lawson of Beamish Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Lord Lawson of Beamish Academy was judged the expected standard and Oxclose Community Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.6 for Lord Lawson of Beamish Academy and 41.8 for Oxclose Community Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Lord Lawson of Beamish Academy (50.2 in 2021-22, 46.6 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Oxclose Community Academy (45.7 in 2021-22, 41.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Chester le StreetLord Lawson of Beamish Academy | WashingtonOxclose Community Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C58/100Stronger figure | D52/100 | |
| Local ranking | 4th of 9 in Gateshead | 11th of 18 in Sunderland | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,293 | 1,078 | |
| Capacity | 1,496 | 1,050 | |
| Location | Chester le Street, DH3 2LP | Washington, NE38 0LN | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.6 Stronger figure | 41.8 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 49.4% Stronger figure | 31.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 71.7% Stronger figure | 56.8% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 8.4% | 38.0% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.72 Stronger figure | 3.52 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 237 | 213 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 64 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 34.0 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 34.8 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 23.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,293 | 1,078 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 32.1% | 38.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 8.2% | 1.9% | |
| SEN support | 14.2% | 20.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.6% | 4.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.9% Stronger figure | 11.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 20.8% Stronger figure | 30.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Lord Lawson of Beamish Academy
Oxclose Community Academy
Full profiles: Lord Lawson of Beamish Academy · Oxclose Community Academy