Lift ClactonColne Community School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Lift Clacton and Colne Community School are secondary schools.
Lift Clacton scores 39 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Colne Community School scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average). Colne Community School is ahead on our composite score.
Lift Clacton was judged Good and Colne Community School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 30.0 for Lift Clacton and 43.0 for Colne Community School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Lift Clacton (31.6 in 2021-22, 30.0 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Colne Community School (51.2 in 2021-22, 43.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Clacton-on-SeaLift Clacton | ColchesterColne Community School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F39/100 | C58/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 72nd of 80 in Essex | 31st of 80 in Essex Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,516 | 1,283 | |
| Capacity | 1,550 | 1,540 | |
| Location | Clacton-on-Sea, CO15 3JL | Colchester, CO7 0QL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 30.0 | 43.0 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 15.0% | 39.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 37.2% | 62.8% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 14.6% | 24.8% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.45 | 3.65 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 247 | 242 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 26 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 28.9 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 31.7 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 12.5% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,516 | 1,283 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 57.0% | 20.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.9% | 3.7% | |
| SEN support | 23.7% | 11.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.7% | 3.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 18.4% | 8.5% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 47.8% | 22.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Lift Clacton
Colne Community School
Full profiles: Lift Clacton · Colne Community School