Liberty AcademyHolderness Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Hull.
Summary of the comparison
Liberty Academy and Holderness Academy are secondary schools in Hull.
Liberty Academy scores 24 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Holderness Academy scores 55 out of 100 (grade C, average). Holderness Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Liberty Academy was judged Requires improvement and Holderness Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 29.2 for Liberty Academy and 43.1 for Holderness Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Liberty Academy (38.2 in 2021-22, 29.2 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Holderness Academy (41.5 in 2021-22, 43.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | HullLiberty Academy | HullHolderness Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F24/100 | C55/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 13th of 13 in Hull | 12th of 18 in East Riding of Yorkshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,252 | 990 | |
| Capacity | 1,550 | 1,390 | |
| Location | Hull, HU9 5YB | Hull, HU12 8UZ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 29.2 | 43.1 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 14.9% | 38.1% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 35.4% | 61.9% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 9.7% | 27.3% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.36 | 3.77 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 195 | 176 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 10 | 20 | |
| A-level average points | 10.0 | 28.3 Stronger figure | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | E | C- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 27.9 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 12.5% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,252 | 990 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 55.3% | 22.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 9.1% | 1.9% | |
| SEN support | 19.3% | 7.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.3% | 4.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 15.8% | 7.1% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 47.1% | 19.7% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Liberty Academy
Holderness Academy
Full profiles: Liberty Academy · Holderness Academy