Leigh Academy BlackheathThe John Roan School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in London.
Summary of the comparison
Leigh Academy Blackheath and The John Roan School are secondary schools in London.
Leigh Academy Blackheath scores 71 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and The John Roan School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average). Leigh Academy Blackheath is ahead on our composite score.
Leigh Academy Blackheath was judged Outstanding and The John Roan School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 55.0 for Leigh Academy Blackheath and 44.3 for The John Roan School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Leigh Academy Blackheath (47.6 in 2022-23, 55.0 in 2024-25) and has fallen at The John Roan School (49.5 in 2021-22, 44.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | LondonLeigh Academy Blackheath | LondonThe John Roan School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B71/100Stronger figure | C56/100 | |
| Local ranking | 3rd of 16 in Greenwich Stronger figure | 11th of 16 in Greenwich | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Free schools | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,060 | 1,112 | |
| Capacity | 1,150 | 1,400 | |
| Location | London, SE3 8SY | London, SE3 7QR | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 55.0 Stronger figure | 44.3 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 60.5% Stronger figure | 38.4% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 79.1% Stronger figure | 58.2% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 88.1% Stronger figure | 54.2% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.24 Stronger figure | 4.13 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 177 | 177 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 93 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 34.2 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 35.0 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 14.3% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,035 | 1,156 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 28.8% | 41.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 16.9% | 34.1% | |
| SEN support | 17.9% | 18.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.7% | 4.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.0% Stronger figure | 8.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 14.2% Stronger figure | 22.0% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Leigh Academy Blackheath
The John Roan School
Full profiles: Leigh Academy Blackheath · The John Roan School