Knightsfield SchoolMonk's Walk School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Welwyn Garden City.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Knightsfield School and Monk's Walk School in Welwyn Garden City.
Knightsfield School was judged Outstanding and Monk's Walk School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 17.7 for Knightsfield School and 50.8 for Monk's Walk School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Knightsfield School (18.3 in 2021-22, 17.7 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Monk's Walk School (55.7 in 2021-22, 50.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Welwyn Garden CityKnightsfield School | Welwyn Garden CityMonk's Walk School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | C66/100 | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | 34th of 81 in Hertfordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy special converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Not reported | Secondary | |
| Age range | 9-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 73 | 1,436 | |
| Capacity | 60 | 1,430 | |
| Location | Welwyn Garden City, AL8 7LW | Welwyn Garden City, AL8 7NL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 17.7 | 50.8 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 10.0% | 51.6% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 30.0% | 71.9% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 40.7% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 1.28 | 4.57 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 10 | 221 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 134 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 38.3 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 39.0 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 27.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 73 | 1,436 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 25.8% | 20.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 30.1% | 10.8% | |
| SEN support | 0.0% | 13.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 100.0% | 3.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.7% | 7.3% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 25.7% | 20.3% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Knightsfield School
Monk's Walk School
Full profiles: Knightsfield School · Monk's Walk School