Kings Priory SchoolJohn Spence Community High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in North Shields.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Kings Priory School and John Spence Community High School in North Shields.
Kings Priory School scores 72 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and John Spence Community High School scores 45 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Kings Priory School is ahead on our composite score.
Kings Priory School was judged Good and John Spence Community High School was judged Requires improvement.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 57.1 for Kings Priory School and 41.0 for John Spence Community High School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Kings Priory School (60.1 in 2021-22, 57.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | North ShieldsKings Priory School | North ShieldsJohn Spence Community High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B72/100Stronger figure | D45/100 | |
| Local ranking | 3rd of 15 in North Tyneside Stronger figure | 15th of 15 in North Tyneside | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 4-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,565 | 812 | |
| Capacity | 1,505 | 885 | |
| Location | North Shields, NE30 4RF | North Shields, NE29 9PU | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 57.1 Stronger figure | 41.0 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 74.2% Stronger figure | 28.6% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 93.5% Stronger figure | 50.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 56.5% Stronger figure | 6.5% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.32 Stronger figure | 3.46 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 124 | 154 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 82.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 12.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 108.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 107.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 102 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 35.7 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 35.5 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 18.6% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,565 | 812 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 10.7% | 49.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 3.1% | 4.6% | |
| SEN support | 10.5% | 15.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.9% | 4.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 4.6% Stronger figure | 9.5% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 8.9% Stronger figure | 25.1% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Kings Priory School
John Spence Community High School
Full profiles: Kings Priory School · John Spence Community High School