Kings Norton Girls' SchoolBournville School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Birmingham.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Kings Norton Girls' School and Bournville School in Birmingham.
Kings Norton Girls' School scores 77 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Bournville School scores 33 out of 100 (grade F, weak). Kings Norton Girls' School is ahead on our composite score.
Kings Norton Girls' School was judged Outstanding and Bournville School was judged Requires improvement.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 56.6 for Kings Norton Girls' School and 36.5 for Bournville School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Kings Norton Girls' School (58.2 in 2021-22, 56.6 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Bournville School (39.5 in 2021-22, 36.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BirminghamKings Norton Girls' School | BirminghamBournville School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B77/100Stronger figure | F33/100 | |
| Local ranking | 12th of 89 in Birmingham Stronger figure | 83rd of 89 in Birmingham | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 4-16 | |
| Gender | Girls | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,083 | 691 | |
| Capacity | 1,075 | 1,163 | |
| Location | Birmingham, B30 1HW | Birmingham, B30 1SH | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 56.6 Stronger figure | 36.5 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 61.0% Stronger figure | 30.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 81.8% Stronger figure | 48.2% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 83.0% Stronger figure | 11.8% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.41 Stronger figure | 2.99 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 159 | 110 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 54.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 103.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 103.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 133 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 37.4 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 36.8 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 17.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,083 | 691 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 28.7% | 64.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 9.6% | 24.3% | |
| SEN support | 15.2% | 23.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.2% | 2.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.5% Stronger figure | 11.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 18.0% Stronger figure | 35.4% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Kings Norton Girls' School
Bournville School
Full profiles: Kings Norton Girls' School · Bournville School