King Richard III Infant and Nursery SchoolHazel Community Primary School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Leicester.
Summary of the comparison
King Richard III Infant and Nursery School and Hazel Community Primary School are primary schools in Leicester.
King Richard III Infant and Nursery School scores 47 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Hazel Community Primary School scores 68 out of 100 (grade C, average). Hazel Community Primary School is ahead on our composite score.
King Richard III Infant and Nursery School was judged Requires improvement and Hazel Community Primary School was judged strong.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has fallen at Hazel Community Primary School (73.0% in 2022-23, 65.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | LeicesterKing Richard III Infant and Nursery School | LeicesterHazel Community Primary School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D47/100 | C68/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 80th of 81 in Leicester | 17th of 81 in Leicester Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: StrongStronger figure | |
| School type | Community school | Community school | |
| Phase | Primary | Primary | |
| Age range | 3-7 | 4-11 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 269 | 410 | |
| Capacity | 318 | 420 | |
| Location | Leicester, LE3 5PA | Leicester, LE2 7JN | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 65.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 2.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 103.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 275 | 425 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 29.1% | 27.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 80.7% | 83.1% | |
| SEN support | 3.6% | 10.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.1% | 1.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 5.5% | 4.7% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 12.1% | 11.8% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
King Richard III Infant and Nursery School
Hazel Community Primary School
Full profiles: King Richard III Infant and Nursery School · Hazel Community Primary School