King James I Academy Bishop AucklandWhitworth Park Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
King James I Academy Bishop Auckland and Whitworth Park Academy are secondary schools.
King James I Academy Bishop Auckland scores 54 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Whitworth Park Academy scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average). Whitworth Park Academy is ahead on our composite score.
King James I Academy Bishop Auckland was judged the expected standard and Whitworth Park Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 43.9 for King James I Academy Bishop Auckland and 50.4 for Whitworth Park Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at King James I Academy Bishop Auckland (50.0 in 2021-22, 43.9 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Whitworth Park Academy (51.3 in 2021-22, 50.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Bishop AucklandKing James I Academy Bishop Auckland | SpennymoorWhitworth Park Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D54/100 | C58/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 20th of 30 in County Durham | 14th of 30 in County Durham Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 926 | 986 | |
| Capacity | 956 | 1,300 | |
| Location | Bishop Auckland, DL14 7JZ | Spennymoor, DL16 7LN | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 43.9 | 50.4 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 28.7% | 55.4% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 59.4% | 70.3% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 22.4% Stronger figure | 5.4% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.53 | 3.95 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 143 | 148 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 44 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 32.1 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 31.3 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 7.7% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 926 | 986 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 51.1% | 39.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.9% | 3.8% | |
| SEN support | 21.1% | 19.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.3% | 2.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.1% | 8.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 30.5% | 27.2% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
King James I Academy Bishop Auckland
Whitworth Park Academy
Full profiles: King James I Academy Bishop Auckland · Whitworth Park Academy